JJ Abrams, Finished with Reboots

When I and most people hear the name JJ Abrams, they think Star Wars 7, Mission Impossible III and Star Trek. All Sequels.

This is something he is incredibly good at all the above titles have been fantastic films as well as making them once again relevant and bringing them to a new audience.

He jut recently did it again with Westworld, HBO’s next big show. At the Golden Globes representing this show he said this to People.

You know, I feel incredibly lucky to have gotten involved in things that I loved when I was a kid. In fact, even Westworld, which we’re here for tonight, is one of them. But I don’t feel any desire to do that again. I feel like I’ve done enough of that that I’m more excited about working on things that are original ideas that perhaps one day someone else will have to reboot.

You know, I do think that if you’re telling a story that is not moving anything forward, not introducing anything that’s relevant, that’s not creating a new mythology or an extension of it, then a complete remake of something feels like a mistake.

This might be a very refreshing thing for his work letting him make something original that he can truly say is he’s make another LOST or Super 8.

Leave a Reply

